IAAF Ethics Board

What is the Ethics Board

Ethics Board - stadium

The preamble to the IAAF Code of Ethics states:

It is an object of the IAAF to safeguard the authenticity and integrity of Athletics and to take all possible measures to eliminate corrupt conduct which might place the authenticity, integrity and reputation of Athletics at risk.

The IAAF Ethics Board (formerly IAAF Ethics Commission) is an independent judicial body established by the Congress in accordance with Article 5.7 of the IAAF Constitution. Composed of nine members appointed by IAAF Council, six of these members are individuals with a legal background and the majority also have a significant involvement with sports. Members of the Board cannot be current members of the IAAF Council nor belong to any other IAAF body. They may be appointed for a maximum of two terms of four years.

One of the nine members is appointed Chairperson of the Board by the IAAF Council and the Chairperson in turn appoints a Deputy Chairperson from among the other eight members. The Board is assisted by a secretary who is independent from the IAAF and appointed by the Chairperson. A panel of the Board consisting of at least 3 members appointed by the Chairperson conducts hearings to adjudicate on proceedings before it. In exceptional cases, a panel of more than 3 members may be appointed (either 5 or 7 members).

The extensive powers of the Board, which are set out in full in the Code, include its authority to appoint an independent investigator to investigate alleged violations of the Code, to adjudicate whether violations of the Code have been committed (other than violations of the Anti-Doping Rules) and to impose sanctions. Among the sanctions at the disposal of the Board are the authority to caution or censure, to issue fines, to suspend the person (with or without conditions) or expel the person from office, to suspend or ban the person from taking part in any athletics-related activity and to remove any award or other honour bestowed on the person by the IAAF.